Monday Musings

1.  The boys kicked off their weekend by attending their first school dance on Friday afternoon.  They’d been talking about it off and on for several weeks and expressing bewilderment that some boys were actually ASKING girls to go to the dance with them and I’d said nothing and left it up to them if they wanted to go or not. By Thursday night we had a definite “yes” and Friday morning they showed up at the breakfast table in their dark jeans and collared shirts.

And un-brushed hair.

But in their defense the guidance counselor told them to come dressed as they would for church and so they did.

“Boys, have you thought about and/or rehearsed how you will ask a girl to dance with you?” I asked (as we are not cotillion folk).

They looked at me as though I had three heads.

“Why would we ask girls to dance?  This isn’t prom.”

And so I merrily sent them on their way, knowing I had nothing to worry about.

2.  My husband returned home from his business trip.  In Bermuda.

Yeah, not too much to say about that would be construed as lovingly supportive.

Sigh.

3.  To console myself for NOT having spent the week on an island, I did a little bit of cooking Sunday afternoon.

Actually, it was more of an attempt to heat the house up because baby, it’s cold outside. 

I tried three new recipes that all turned out delicious: 1) a potato leek soup that was tasty but that I didn’t take a picture that looked halfway decent, 2) some Israeli couscous with apricots, cranberries, and almonds,

and 3) a ridiculously easy, beautiful, and decadently delicious apple brown butter tart.

And I broke my no-sugar fast for only the third time in ten weeks to have a piece (the second time was on Friday when I had cookies with Coffeegal).

And both times were totally worth it.

Have a nice day.

 

3 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. School dances…you’re entering some fun years now : ) We spent the weekend snowed in under 15 inches of the white stuff. Ka-razy!

  2. Mmm… next time you are on your own for the weekend, and are doing some consolation cooking… call me!

  3. Bermuda boy doesn’t get any apple tart leftovers. Oh, maybe there weren’t any leftovers.

Leave a Reply

