In which we dispense with the formalities

Y’all.

It was 46 degrees last night and raining at Trick or Treat time.

It started sprinkling around 3:00 when the kids got home from school and the first question out of their mouths was “WILL HALLOWEEN BE CANCELLED????”

Not as long as there is candy to be had, my pretties.

I spent all afternoon talking them off the proverbial ledge and finally had to pull out the big guns to pacify them.

Chocolate.

Works every time.

We usually have a themed snack supper before venturing out for our Halloween festivities and this year was no different.  We had mummy fingers, jello brains, gopher guts, and poisoned apples.

The gopher gut tarts were super easy to make.  I took some Pillsbury Crescent Roll dough that comes in an un-scored sheet and rolled it out and cut it into rectangular-y pieces.

Then I pressed them into a mini muffin pan and dropped in some shredded cheese and some ground beef that I’d cooked with onions, garlic, and Cajun spice seasoning, then baked it at 375 for 17 minutes.

And my children rose up and called me blessed.

We bulked everyone up with long-sleeved shirts and hoodies under their costumes and went to our old neighborhood to trick or treat with friends.  It was fun seeing everyone and I must confess that I shed a little tear when the neighbors three houses down remembered T’s favorite candy and had a king-sized bag of Skittles set aside just for him.

We hit all the houses in brisk fashion.  The rain was rolling off the umbrellas and down our backs and we were cold and water-logged within 15 minutes so there was no standing on the stoop and chatting with friends at each house as in years past.  We were highly efficient at ringing, grabbing, and moving on and wonder of wonders, miracle of miracles, we were done in an hour and I got zero complaints about taking hot showers when we got home.

And I dug through their buckets to exact the Mother’s Tax but, alas, there were no Take 5 bars.

Oh well, maybe next year.

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “In which we dispense with the formalities

  1. We had no Take5’s either? Is there a shortage this year that I didn’t know about? However, I found the golden nugget: A World’s Finest Chocolate bar down in the bottom of my daughter’s bag.

  2. I always hope for Butterfingers and Junior Mints in the little boxes and Rich always hopes for Almond Joys. He made out and I got one measly Butterfinger and NO Junior Mints…curse you diet gods!!!

  3. No Take5s in Virginia either. Love them! Mother Tax fully levied here too.

  4. My crowns do not thank me for the full size Butterfinger that I might’ve succumbed to.

  5. There was exactly 1 Reece’s Cup in the children’s candy. Someone wouldn’t share! I have failed as a mother. I’ll have to try the gopher guts. They look very child-friendly! I’m imagining a mom-friendly version with chicken salad inside, too.

Leave a Reply

