Five on Friday

1.  I bought the first Christmas present yesterday and I have to say, it has put me in the spirit.  I am a rule follower when it comes to observing holidays in their season and not rushing ahead to the next one (and I refuse to have even the slightest hint of green or red in the house until the weekend after Thanksgiving) but in my head I can already hear the sleigh bells.

2.  I signed up to host the 6th grade boys retreat at our house next weekend.

I think the Christmas spirit might have made me temporarily insane.

3.  It’s Fun Friday which means I try to do something that gives me joy so today I’m going to the library to check out a boatload of books and I’m also going to spend some time in the sewing room working on my quilt (yes, the one from JANUARY) and a dress that I had planned on making back in September but never got around to cutting out the fabric.

I am also going to do some serious thinking about whether I want to finish this top I’ve been working on for a month that has turned into an unmitigated disaster.  There’s no way I’m going to be able to wear it out in public without a sweater over it to hide my inability to attach sleeves so I think I’m just going to chalk it up as a “learning experience” and move on.

Quickly.

4.  Speaking of things that aren’t going so quickly, we’re attempting to build T’s stamina in his walker.  He’s fighting it (it takes an enormous amount of effort on his part) and being a physical therapist is not my favorite part of the Mom job.

I’d appreciate your prayers that all of us would be disciplined and successful.

5.  And finally, a Ranger Rick Safety Tip: If you submerge a Yankee Candle in water while the wax is still melted, it will never light again.

#lessonstheboyslearnedthisweek

#whydoIeventry

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. Will def’ly keep you and T in my prayers. And re: the shirt…I bet she has a few strips or squares in her to make her not a disaster, but a part of a quilt. You are brave, girl. I am not a garment sewer.

  2. I’m looking at the word “sewer”, and I mean seamstress…not poo receptacle. I hope that was clear.

  3. I have one word regarding #2-Febreze.

    I’ll add the pt to my prayers.

  4. I can’t believe you already bought a Christmas present! 🙂 Good for you . . . I’m so NOT on top of things – but i’m VERY excited about Christmas and what it’s going to look like in our new little house! And i’ll be praying for you and T!

  5. Ah I have been the Mom Therapist a lot over the years. It was never a good experience. In our son’s case it eventually became clear that he was not going to improve physically and we gave up. We have had outside therapy a couple of times – and through the school when he was in school (now in college – they don’t provide therapy) and he has luckily stayed pretty flexible, which is a good thing. As long as he can maintain that, we’re a step in the right direction.
    We even went to Poland for therapy a number of years ago and while the results seemed pretty positive, they were also somewhat temporary as hip surgery set him back quite a bit. Good luck in your endeavors. I don’t envy you the road ahead. Does T have a prone stander that he could use?

Leave a Reply

