Tuesday Tidbits

Would someone please get the license plate of the Mack truck that hit me?

LOVE.

A.

DUCK.

I am sick.

I spent all day yesterday under a pile of blankets and drinking hot tea and chicken soup trying to stave off this cold/flu/bubonic plague and I feel like I’d have to get better to die.

I don’t think it helps that I am slap wore out from this weekend’s festivities at the house.  Yes, this was Metamorphosis weekend and we had over 15 kids  sleeping in our house Friday and Saturday night with all their accompanying hoopla and lemme tell you, I learned A LOT about 6th grade boys in 48 hours.

Mostly that they use a lot of Axe. 

At 7:30 in the morning.

There was an unusual amount of girl talk.  There were a couple of boys that have decided that girls are all that and a bag of chips and they were pestering  the older leaders for advice on the best ways to pick up chicks.  One kid said that he would drop a piece of paper on the floor near the girl he liked “because girls always pick up paper off the floor” and when she stood up, “Ta dah!  There I am!”

Yeah, not so much.

Another one said that “I wear Axe because, to girls, it smells like chocolate and girls CANNOT resist chocolate.”

Another one said that he tells a girl his name and then says “Remember that when I call you.”

Oh, there was lots of eye rolling from me in the corner on that one. 

I had to endure all the jokes about farting passing gas.

And a lot of the smell of passing gas itself.

Note to self:  No beans at next year’s barbecue.

There was massive chips and coke consumption  (I lost count after eight bags and my recycling bin is going to earn the city a ton of money this week) and, surprisingly, these twelve-year olds drained my coffee pot on Saturday morning.

Twice.

And the hair product?  And then inordinate amount of time it took to apply the hair product?  I had to check twice to make sure the girls hadn’t snuck in the back door.  These boys could have outfitted an entire Sally Beauty Supply.

But it was worth all the noise and smell and primping and exhaustion to see these boys have fun together and learn and apply lessons of eternal consequence. I feel really good about the kids that my kids are hanging out with and grateful to parents who are working really hard to instill good values into this loud, plucky gang to which we belong.

God is good.

And so is DayQuil.  I’m off to bed.

Have a nice day.

6 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Get better! Ah, the smells of 6th grade boys. Undoubtedly that was what sent you over the edge!

  3. You are a saint.

    And I’m so sorry you’re sick. Maybe we should start a club.

  4. Hope you feel better soon!!! you’re funny even when you are sick!!!

  5. Didn’t you wonder what boys talked about when girls weren’t around? This is way funnier than I ever imagined! Hope you feel better soon!

  6. Hope you are feeling better. My son just turned 11 so you have given me a glimpse of sleepovers in the future!

Leave a Reply

