A little of this, a little of that. You know, the usual.

I would have blogged yesterday but I was distracted by all the Christmas crafty things everyone keeps putting on their Pinterest boards.

I don’t know where you people find these cute projects. Clearly, I’m not spending enough time prowling the outer recesses of the Internet.

But I’m perfectly willing to take advantage of all y’all’s research.

And somewhere a grammar teacher is cringing at the “all y’all’s”.

Let’s see – I need to fill you in on the weekend. It involved spending hours cleaning the house so that we’d have some clear areas in which to pile all the Christmas stuff we hauled down from the attic. And then I realized the error of my ways because we pulled everything out of the bins and scattered boatloads of dust, glitter, and fake greenery all over those freshly mopped floors and vacuumed carpets.

Proving once again that housework is wasted effort.

I decorated the mantle (no pictures yet because it’s missing a critical piece or two that I’m sure I could find at Michael’s or HomeGoods) and set out some Christmas pillows in the den but haven’t touched the dining room table centerpiece or the sideboard yet. Mainly because I need to clear them of all the stuff that Craig piled on top of them when he cleaned out his office and didn’t know what to do with random and sundry items so he stacked them on the table in hopes that the Household Fairy would magically make them go away.

Little does he know that the Fairy is French and therefore on strike until after the holidays.

Speaking of the French, that reminded me of pastries which reminded me of these little gems that I have sitting in my cupboard just waiting for a steaming cup of coffee for accompaniment.

My friend Shannon went to Texas over Thanksgiving and brought back an assortment of bread products from Mrs. Baird’s. For those of you not from the Promised Land, Mrs. Baird’s is a local bakery that supplies grocery stores in Texas, Oklahoma and Arkansas and it is the bread that was served at my grandparents’ house. I have many happy memories of going to the day-old bread store with my grandfather to buy cinnamon rolls, fruit pies and loaves of split-top honey wheat. Just a single toasted slice slathered with Welch’s Concord Grape jelly transports me to my grandmother’s kitchen where I can see her standing at the slide out electric cooktop in her house coat stirring skillets of scrambled eggs and bacon and fussin’ about something.

Which distracted her long enough so that I could grab another slice.

Bliss.

Also in the blissful category, I had a hair appointment yesterday. (Please do not get whiplash from the abrupt segues today. I warned you in the title that this post was going to be all over the map.) Craig’s office party is this Thursday and the roots, they were a-showin’, so I popped in to see Lacie my Goth hairdresser who changes her hair color like most people change underwear and she freshened me up with the magic touch-up brush and a few pieces of foil.

Isn’t that lovely picture of my ceiling? The other picture I took showed the disaster that most others would call a kitchen so we had to make slight adjustments to the camera angle. You’re welcome.

And with that, I’ve run out of things to say other than I’m not going to take my freshly highlighted hair to Michael’s to buy crafty stuff so I can come back to my messy dining room table and eat cinnamon rolls and think of my grandmother while I make all the things y’all put on Pinterest.

That’s a wrap.

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “A little of this, a little of that. You know, the usual.

  1. When we were in Texas last week I bought the two pack of Mrs. Baird’s cinnamon rolls……..mmmmmmm

  2. Beautiful pic…love the hair. You always look great! Jealous!!!

  3. When I first started reading your blog, I just knew we were destined to be friends. And you proved that again today: “proving once again that housework is wasted effort.” Amen my friend.

  4. You look lovely. I got a trim of my “do” today too. And I love Mrs. Baird’s bread. But I love Sunbeam even more and can’t find hide nor hair of it here in AZ.

  5. What is this pinterest that you speak of??? Dare I Google it?? My family might not forgive me, but I am sure Michaels would love me.

  6. {Heart} Pinterest. I think I have an invite or two hanging around if anyone needs to get addicted – I mean, wants to check it out. And by all means I would love if you would “follow me” and I will follow you back. My email address is mbryt1@bex.net

  7. I don’t think I ever realized that Mrs. Bairds was just over here. It makes me feel like I need to get some of those cinnamon rolls…especially if they’re a delicacy that I’ve taken for granted… 🙂

  8. Just moved to Texas, and I have seen the mrs bairds at the grocery store. Now I want to buy some, post haste!

  9. Let me know when you need Mrs. Baird’s anything…I’ll ship it right away!!! Miss you all!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

