Hello, I’m a Mac

Over the weekend Craig my technical support team decided it was getting a little complicated to manage multiple operating systems and he changed my home computer to a Mac.

And I am now all thumbs.

Where’s my Control Alt Del function?  And my backspace?  And how to I jump from word to word, or open a new window? And why does the screen suddenly disappear when I do something that was perfectly acceptable when I was a PC?

WHO MOVED MY CHEESE???????

Susan.  Open to change since 1969.

We had a delightful Christmas week and I got some beautiful gifts that I would show you IF I KNEW HOW TO GET THEM OFF MY PHONE AND ONTO MY NEW COMPUTER but my favorite part of the holiday was getting to spend ten whole days with Craig.

Lemme’ tell you, that boy was ready to go to work today and have more than six inches of space from his wife. It may or may not have had something to do with the eight thousand things on the to-do list.  7,999 of which was the number of loads of laundry that needed to be done.

Putting the Christmas decorations away started us on a two-day cleaning and purging frenzy.  I somehow managed to convince the kids that cleaning closets was part of the New Year tradition and if they wanted to participate in all the grandeur of the holidays, they needed to start with the sock drawer.

That kept them busy for the better part of eight hours.

ADD is a beautiful thing.

We did a few home projects like raise the chandelier in the den so people wouldn’t whack their heads on it (and all those people said, “AMEN”) and hit a few of the after-Christmas sales for winter coats (Lands End squall coats were ridiculously marked down – go now!) but otherwise stayed close to home and close to each other.

The kids are still out on break for three more weeks but I’m channeling my inner homeschooler and making them do some studying and review for subjects in which they’re struggling in school.  Report cards were a little, um, what’s the word, horrid so beatings will continue until morale improves they’re going through Mom Boot Camp for the next nine weeks to see if we can’t bring them up a tad.

And Boot Camp will begin just as soon as I can figure out how to add a printer.

Have a nice day.

6 responses to “Hello, I’m a Mac

  1. My forehead says thank you for raising the chandelier.

    Robbie wants to know if he can still reach the one in the dining room if he climbs on a chair.

    Jocelyn’s only concern? That the chandeliers remain. The other day she asked, “Mommy, can we go to the beautiful house again?” After some follow-up questions, I realized the beautiful house = your house. Because of the bling.

  2. I know Doug loves us, too, but I’ve seen that “get me outta here!” gleam in his eye once or twice, at the end of an extended time w/us all. We, too, have started the purge…prolly will go on in one form or another till next December.

  3. I got to spend a whole 10 days with Rich. It was lovely. Yeah, I need DESPARATELY to have an entire day with me and my house. I have such grand ideas for it. Hopefully soon.

  4. We too went Mac…I too am lost…when you find your way…PLEASE HELP! I am trying to get a kick start on my digital scrapbooking but am still trying to find my photos!

  5. I LOVE it when someone else says, “ADD is a wonderful thing!” It does make life a smorghasbord…
    You will learn to love your Mac. It took me awhile but now I can’t imagine going back.
    Glad y’all had a great Christmas time & together time!

Leave a Reply

