Memorial Day 2012

Happy Day After Memorial Day! I’ll spend the rest of the week missing appointments because my brain doesn’t adjust to a week starting on Tuesday but you won’t hear me complaining one whit.  We had a clear calendar going into the holiday weekend and successfully managed to keep it that way .  We swam, lounged, read, watched movies, snacked, napped to the Indy 500, grilled, shopped (but didn’t buy), went to the movies (The Avengers) and spent quality time together except for the three or four hours that I’d rather forget on Monday that the boys took to tidy their bedrooms. That was painful .

I did as little cooking as possible.  Craig did some experimenting with a new marinade for pork and chicken (there’s an important BBQ competition coming up in mid-June that his team wants to win so they’ll qualify for the national championship in Kansas City) so there was plenty to reheat and eat on Saturday and Sunday and for our Memorial Day grill-out we kept it simple with hot dogs and potato salad.

JJ had been asking me to try Pioneer Woman’s cherry limeade recipe so I made a batch for our dinner and it was Sonic good.  The only thing missing was their perfect crunchy ice.

I also made these fun pretzel rods that Adrienne Who Lives In The Comments Section had pinned to her board a few weeks ago.  They were festive and took seconds to make.

And a good time was had by all.


Have a nice day.

 

 

3 responses to “Memorial Day 2012

  1. We had a weekend like that too and it was exactly what we needed! I’ve been wanting to try that limeade recipe and you’ve inspired me to do so. Please tell me you already know that you can buy bags of ice from Sonic! I think I need to pick some up before I attempt the limeade. 🙂

  2. hahahaha! I love where I live! hamburgers and hot dogs here too, minus the festive dinnerware. and we hit the beach since it was 100 degrees for a few days in a row. but there was a nice breeze. ha! don’t you love when people say that?! 100 is 100. glad you had a great weekend!

  3. I’m sorry…still chortling over the IHOP senior discount offer. Doug’s day is coming.

Leave a Reply

