Random Randomness: Would you like a little cheese with that whine?

1.  I’m working full-time these days and will be for the next three to six months.  It has burned up every available creative cell in my brain and after spending 8-9 hours a day staring at a computer screen, I can’t even pretend to have any love for blogging.

And it’s making me cranky.

So cranky that I complained to someone else at work the other day and now I’m annoyed at myself for becoming THAT person.

2.  I spent an hour at school yesterday cleaning out and sorting the hundreds of papers stuffed at the bottom of my offspring’s locker.  I found ten assignments that hadn’t been turned in.

That would be ten zeros that are currently bringing his grade average down TREMENDOUSLY and I have done everything I know to do to help him get organized and care about his schoolwork and I’m at my wit’s/wits’/wits end.

This year cannot end soon enough and I can only pray we don’t have to repeat it.

3.  And I have anxiety that’s starting to creep in over Travis’ upcoming surgery (July 16).  I’m doing my best to not think about it but it’s getting to the point where I’m having to factor that event in on the calendar and having to schedule meetings with the school system so he can have educational instruction at home (he’ll miss the first few weeks of school), get pre-op appointments booked,  and Tommy and JJ signed up for the morning bus so that they’ll have a way to get to school in August when Craig has to travel and I can’t leave T alone.

I’m going to do my best to keep busy and have as much fun as we can before D-Day.  Tommy and JJ will have sleep-away church camp the last week of the month and we may try to fit in a quick family vacation trip to the beach before we are home for the rest of the summer/year  doing rehab.

4.  BUT I have flowers that I bought for $3 at Kroger on Saturday and they are cheering me up.  I was chatting with the flower lady (big surprise) and was asking her about a mixed bunch and she leaned over the counter and whispered that if I’d wait a few minutes, she would have tulips on clearance.

So wait I did.

And waited.

And waited.

And waited because she couldn’t find the sticker she needed to mark down the flowers to $6.50 so after 10 minutes of searching she grabbed a pre-printed orange tag for $2.99, slapped it on the bouquet, winked, and handed it over.

And they make me happy.

5.  Along with finding a random, unwrapped, partially consumed chocolate bar this morning on a refrigerator shelf that probably hasn’t been cleaned since North Korea had free elections.

Flowers and chocolate – what more could a girl want?

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Random Randomness: Would you like a little cheese with that whine?

  1. Flowers and chocolate indeed. Love you CPQ and we’ll put July 16th on the prayer list. 🙂

  2. you make me smile!

  3. The North Korea comment made me clean up my keyboard…coffee. every.where.
    Praying for T and you.
    Miss seeing you.

  4. Hey – would a meal delivered to your door be helpful around or after July 16? Someone did that for us when Clara had surgery last summer, and it was the most amazing thing. Let me know – I’d be happy to bring over dinner, lunch, coffee, breakfast… you know, whatever you need. 🙂

  5. At first glance I thought that chocolate bar was a doormat. Then I thought what a great doormat that would be!

Leave a Reply

