Five on Friday

1. After 16 years of marriage, the husband has made a polite request to no longer see steamed broccoli on the table. I am frantically searching for new methods of preparation because broccoli is one of the few vegetables upon which ALL the Carpool Kids agree. Ack!

2. I got a new oven and am no longer burning biscuits, cookies, casseroles and basically everything that went in the door. My family is happy.

3. It’s quite possible that my head will explode before the elections take place. I enjoy partisan politics tremendously and for the past two weeks have yelled at the television with the enthusiasm and volume most often reserved for team sports or a battle cry. It either needs to be November 6 or a Xanax at this point.

4. Cold front coming through tomorrow to drop us out of the 90s. Time for fall decorating!

5. As I type this at 5:45 on a Friday afternoon, there is no active or willful movement towards a supper plan. Sadly, I used my pizza chit earlier in the week. I’m hoping a cheerful, cheesy grin when C walks in the door earns us a trip to the neighborhood Mexican joint.

If that doesn’t work, I’ll pull out some broccoli.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. Congrats on the oven. Now for a dishwasher with all parts that stay in their socket…..

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Last spring I started roasting the green veggies. So far everyone here has eaten broccoli, asparagus, brussell sprouts and green beans that way. A little olive oil, a little salt and pepper and it’s good to go. Type in “best broccoli” in the search bar at Pinterest and you’ll find the instructions.
    I love your blog; your humor, your dedication to our Lord, your everyday struggles and the love of your family. I’ve enjoyed reading it all. Thank you for being here for me when I needed to hear from you.

    • Pam –

      Thanks so very much for your kind words. They came at the end of a long week and were very encouraging.

      Sus

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. TGIF, CPQ! I love the thought of you pulling out the broccoli card on a Friday night. Works like a charm.

  4. I agree with roasting veggies! My kids eat types of veggies they didn’t eat before. Sprinkle with olive oil and sea salt, so easy.

  5. the “best broccoli” on pinterest really is good. i don’t love broccoli, but i about ate the whole pan of that mess. lemon zest, juice, and some parm cheese at the end are delicious on it as well, along with the olive oil, salt, and pepper.

    also, my favorite thing is that you would threaten steamed broccoli in order to get out of cooking. i’ll have to remember that one. good on you, friend.

  6. I’m not sure why, but mother used to resort to a dinner of scrambled eggs and Spaghetti-o’s (not mixed together but served side by side. I don’t understand it to this day) whenever she wanted to eat out. Didn’t always work but more often than not, my dad would spring for something (anything) else.

  7. I pan roast my broccoli, fry I guess you could say. Olive oil and salt, cook without stirring until it is brown on one side. If I need to get it a little more cooked I will sometimes splash some water in the pan and cover briefly. My kids love it this way and I haven’t steamed my broccoli since.

  8. My family love, love, loves roasted broccoli. A little olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Bake at 375 for 15 to 20 minutes. Teen requests it and it is one of two recipes he has requested from college so far.

  9. Definitely roast broccoli, but then they complain about the smell. Have a candle ready to light. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle sea salt roast at 425 for 20 min.

  10. All I used to do if I wanted to go out was put a chicken in the sink to thaw…Whatever it takes!

  11. Sauteed broccoli. Olive oil and a touch of butter in a hot pan, add broccoli (in pretty small florets), toss around and leave to cook for a couple of minutes. Toss around again, then salt and pepper (if you salt early it’s easy to overdo it) to taste. If you want it softer, cover and let it steam a little, but the key is to get some browning going on, so leave it open otherwise. That’s when it’s delicious.

    This actually goes for almost any veggie. Green beans are particularly delicious.

Leave a Reply

