Five on Friday

1.  Travis’ cast is completely off.

I would show you a picture of the momentous occasion but my phone went on the fritz while I was in the doctor’s office and let me tell you, two hours of sitting in a waiting room without access to the Internets taught me all I need to know about my little problem with “iPhone Addiction Syndrome”.  Horror of horrors, I had to resort to reading this thing called a “magazine” made of this other thing called “paper” and you had to manually turn the pages with your hand.

I ’bout came unglued.

Oh, wait, this story was about T’s cast coming off, wasn’t it?  Focus, Susan, focus.

So the cast came off and we came straight home by way of the AT&T store to get my phone fixed and I plopped him into the jacuzzi where he soaked for about an hour until his skin was good and pruney and then I started washing his leg that hadn’t seen the light of day for two months and it was, um, how shall I say it delicately, DISGUSTING AND I GAGGED.  We’ve lotioned daily since then and his skin is now pink and healthy and not gross any more and we are just left with a few scars here and there which brings me to my second point.

2.  In the “if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” category, I have a new scar.

Earlier in the summer I noticed a spot on my shoulder that looked a little funny and, of course, did nothing about it because I live in denial most days  figured it would have to be taken off and I don’t like doctors just didn’t have time for that with T’s surgery and recovery so I ignored it like an idiot and it got worse. Craig made me get it checked as soon as T went back to school and sure enough, the PA said it needed to come off because it was basal cell cancer which of all the kinds to have is the best.  She said it would be a minor procedure and I’d have a couple of stitches and life would go on.

She lied.

NINE STITCHES later during which I could hear them SNIP MY SKIN WITH SCISSORS and I had to dig deep so as not to WIG OUT, I’m left looking a bit Bride of Frankenstein-ish.

Ranger Rick Suzie tip: Wear sunscreen.

3.  My parents came for a visit.

We washed clothes took Dad out for his birthday, washed clothes decorated for fall, washed clothes made chocolate pie, washed clothes and drove thirty minutes to Historic Hillborough to spend the day sight-seeing only to discover that Hillsborough is historically CLOSED on Monday.

So we came home and washed clothes.

4.  Mom and I were crafty.

She helped me make these pumpkin decorations for the front porch.  They are a hybrid of a couple of Pinterest ideas and I’m generally happy with how they turned out.  So that I wouldn’t have to worry about ants or rotting pumpkin goo dripping all over the place, I used craft pumpkins from Michael’s (I think they are half-off now) and wrapped bittersweet garland around them.  To give them some height,  I set them on top of a grapevine wreath covered in Spanish moss.

And the best thing?  No watering.

 

We also made a monogrammed wreath using instructions found in this tutorial 

 

The instructions said the wreath would be full and fluffy and I can attest to that because I have to adjust the leaves just so I can close the door but I’m happy with how it looks and don’t want to jinx anything by rearranging so we’re just going to live with it like that until November when everything comes down in order to decorate for Christmas.

5. My parents left.

I have been very a little bit sad about that the last couple of days but have consoled myself with the special container of chicken salad and the last piece of chocolate pie that Mom tucked in the fridge before pulling out of the driveway.

I know I say it every time they leave but will say it again:  I love North Carolina but I hate living so far away from my people.  I wish we lived even a day’s drive closer so that we could be together more often but until Craig’s company opens another office in Tennessee or Texas, it’s not going to happen.  I guess that means I’ll keep the interstate hotels and gas stations in business for another year.

And do my own laundry.

Have a nice day.

7 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. No one does laundry like our moms do laundry. Or leaves the last slice of pie for us to find. ❤

    Love your crafties!

  2. I love your new fall decorations! I especially love the “s” for Susan 🙂 I have another friend with double SS initials and I always thought it funny she had a big S on her mantle…she finally told me it was for her last name. ha! we still laugh about that one!

    My sister just moved from an 11 hour drive from me (DC) to a 19 hour drive (Orlando), so I know how you feel about far away family 😦

    And my mother doesn’t even hardly do her own laundry. She would never do mine. She would probably buy me new underwear tho!!

  3. First of all, I just love you. Period. Second, I’m at my parents’ right now in GA and my mom has done my laundry every day that I’ve been here. She’s washing them faster than I can wear them,in fact. Third, we are hot pursuit of every food item and restaurant I don’t get to have in Arizona…I am gaining weight as fast as my mom is washing clothes. Forth, I thrill at the thought of you enjoying your parents’ visit…because I SO get that. And I will cry on the flight home a week from today. Take care. So good to read your post today. You are a delight.

  4. Not to gloat (well maybe a little), but sometimes Nana’s nickname is The Laundry Fairy. I am not kidding when I say I really could get by with one shirt due to the speed at which The Laundry Fairy works her magic. I almost need a chart to remember what I wear each day, lest I wear the same thing 5 days in a row.

    And since I’m already on the gloating train, did I mention the iPhone5 rocks?

  5. I just spent the weekend with my parents, so I feel your saddness. Of course, there are reasons we live nine hours apart, so sometimes a little saddness is a good thing.

  6. Yikes, I just read this (quite q little behind on blogs)! Did you go to a dermatologist for it? I’m so glad you had a good visit with your folks. Your wreath is really pretty & I really (okay, too much really?) like the pumpkin creation. Where I grew up we had real bittersweet every fall & it grew wild along country roads. I was amazed when we migrated here over 30 years ago that it did not grow wild here. But I love the “fake” kind too.

Leave a Reply

