Monday Musings

It is cold and dreary this morning and the winds from Hurricane Sandy are supposed to blow in later this afternoon.  We aren’t in harm’s way and for that we are grateful as well as mindful of those that are.

Stay safe, northeastern  friends.

We had a quiet weekend – Craig came home late, late, late Friday night from a work trip to Florida and we enjoyed hanging out Saturday morning, drinking coffee and catching up on the week’s news.  Tommy and JJ signed up to help at the church’s Fall Festival so we dropped them off in the afternoon so they could hand out candy to the little kiddies and Craig, Travis and I went to Best Buy to see what was new in the world of electronics.

I am married to a guy who enticed by all things gadget-y said the woman who gets distracted by shiny things and perusing Best Buy or CompUSA is akin to crawling through hot coals but I took one for the home team because Nordstrom has a shoe sale next weekend and guess who’s going with me.

On Sunday I did some volunteer work for the presidential campaign as a poll observer at an early voting site.  I was tickled to see such a huge turnout – the line wrapped around the corner of the building for almost four hours straight – and I was happy to report that the process ran smoothly and nothing shady happened with the exception of the multiple occurrences of crimes against fashion.

People.

Let’s just all agree to never, never, never, EVER, wear gladiator shoes with sweatpants.

Or vertically striped pants unless you’re Twiggy.

 Or for the younger crowd, whoever the skinniest, leggiest model is currently in vogue.

Or Ugg boots with swinging pom-poms if you’re over 60.  Or over 16, while we’re at it.

Oh, it was better people-watching than at the airport. 

I was fired up and ready to go and must say that the whole observer process was kind of anti-climactic and not so very glamorous.  There were strict rules by which we had to abide (I could not be chatty with the poll workers.  Do you know how hard that is???) and the election judge had an area reserved for us to sit.  I chose the seat closest to the registration table to make sure the authorization to vote forms were properly handed out (NC doesn’t have a voter ID law and it drives me crazy, especially when easily 90% of the people in line had their driver’s licenses out and ready to show to the official only to be told to put them away.  Rant over) and by choosing that particular seat, it meant that I was also directly in line of all the wind that came rushing in the door every time it was opened to let another group of voters in.

Oh, it was delightful.

By the time I left, I was stiff, sore, and freezing to ever-loving-death but happy to be but a small gear in the cog of democracy and to celebrate we went and ate pizza, or rather, I watched my family eat pizza while I ate my sad little salad but it was okay because I’ve lost 10 pounds so far and that makes choking down yet another leaf of lettuce worth it.

And a good time was had by all.

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Thank you for volunteering! Sorry about the lettuce…but Yay! on the 10 pounds! 🙂

  2. Oh My. I am SUCH a people watcher and this job sounds right up my alley (except for not talking to anyone) I messed up and didn’t change my address in time for this election so the person told me that when I vote at my new polling place I won’t be on the list so they will put my ballot in a special pink envelope and they will count those later. As in later in the year?? I am fearing my vote will be file thirteened.

    Congrats on the 10 lbs…you must be waif-ish by now.

  3. Congratulations on the 10 pounds. You are my inspiration. My problem is I eat a salad for lunch and then reward myself for my excellent choice with a brownie and milk in the afternoon. I haven’t quite perfected this dieting thing, obviously.

    Today you provided my afternoon pick-me-up chuckle!

  4. Just some random comments – thank you for calling them kiddies and not kiddos – I hate that word. I can’t believe you are old enough to remember Twiggy. Way to go on losing 10 pounds – not that I thought you needed to but if you wanted to then I’m glad you lost them.

  5. great tp catch up on your comings and goings – a very interesting weekend indeed! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

