Because I always pay up

Crow and Mushroom Stew

3 crows
1 Tbsp lard/shortening
1 pint stock or gravy
2 Tbsp cream
1/2 cup mushrooms
salt and pepper
cayenne pepper

Clean and cut crows into small portions and let them cook a short time in the lard/shortening in a saucepan, being careful not to brown them.
Next, add to the contents of the pan, the stock or gravy, and salt, pepper and cayenne to taste.

Simmer 1 hour, or until tender, add mushrooms, simmer 10 minutes more and then stir in cream.

Arrange the mushrooms around the crows on a hot platter.

Garnish with bitter tears and a little bit of melodrama for accent.

Have a nice day.  And see you at the midterms.

6 responses to “Because I always pay up

  1. That’s revolting. Funny. But revolting. I’m hoping maybe Jesus will come back this afternoon. I’m going to Starbuck’s to get my last creme brulee latte in case I’m whisked off to heaven shortly 🙂

  2. I’m banking on Jesus, too.

  3. You’re a better woman than I am. I refuse to eat the crow and am simply drinking my tears instead…yeah…anyhow…

  4. I’m with you all, ladies. Wednesday I kept telling my students something must be in bloom, allergies are acting up. Finally, I got home for my decent cry.

  5. My recipe calls for more melodrama : )

  6. I love the way you found humor in a sad, sad, sad situation.

Leave a Reply

