Monday Musings

 

Just be prepared for pictures of craftiness because that’s all we did this weekend (and ignore weird spacing because WordPress changed the photo editor and I haven’t figured it out yet.) 

The neighbors already have their decorations out so I was feeling the pressure to conform but before we could get to the brick and mortar house, there was the *other* house that required our first attention: the gingerbread one.

I don’t know about you but nothing sets my teeth on edge more than the annual session of gingerbread house decorating because the control issues, my friends, they COME FORTH MIGHTILY when it comes to putting frosting and jelly beans on a cookie dome.

I may or may not have to take medicinal support deep breaths before we sit down for the joyous occasion.

Gives me hives. 

I’m almost over it.

Yes, they have therapy for that.

 

photo (10)

 

 

 

 

 

 

house

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was so much fun to hang out with friends and be crafty and have snacks (that strawberry Santa appetizer from Pinterest showed up and it was darling) and never before have we experienced such family harmony so I hereby declare that Heather needs to have this party every year for the foreseeable future.

On Sunday we put up the Christmas tree that does not have enough lights , decorated the mantle, and I braved the 5-hour sale at Michael’s where everything was 50% off plus an additional 20% with the coupon.

Madness.

Sheer madness.

And I loved every minute of it because no one in the family would go with me and I had an hour and a half with jillions of other women  alone in a craft store. I overbought supplies for a Christmas wreath and some came home and spent the rest of the afternoon making it plus a lighted garland for the front door.

tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

peace

 

 

 

 

door

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is love, that my husband would put four nails in the door frame to hold it up.  

And a wonderful time was had by all.

Have a nice day.

 

3 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. I love your decorations! The wreath…the garland around the door…the nails to hold it up! Just pure Christmas magic!!

    Heather’s party = favorite time all weekend!

    Thanks for the hug…tears and all!

    Love you.

  2. A most excellent idea to make the gingerbread houses outside! Will steal that one.

  3. I totally get the gingerbread syndrome. I have it too. Eating too many gumdrops doesn’t help either. I love your stocking hangers. Your garland turned out beautifully!

Leave a Reply

