Sus goes to the grocery store. Riveting.

The Breakfast Fairy informed me yesterday that we were out of eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, milk, orange juice, and bananas and that he would need some grocery store help before he could be expected to work his magic in the morning for the kiddos so yesterday was a shopping day.  For once I decided to shower, fix my hair, and throw on something other than shorts and a logo t-shirt before heading out and I’m glad I did because I ran into four friends at BJ’s and it would have been awkward trying to avoid them for 47 aisles so they wouldn’t see a serious case of bedhead.

I once had to slink through Food Lion for half an hour trying to avoid an old hairdresser who I’d cheated on with my current hairdresser.  Talk about stressful.

Ack.

Craig’s office is close by the store so I decided to stop in and drop off some brownie bites I’d picked up (don’t judge – it takes an act of Congress to get me to bake) and it was conveniently lunch time and I talked him into grabbing a salad with me at Chick-fil-A. (By the way, the new salads are delish and, no, they didn’t pay me to say that.)  Then I came home, threw everything on the counter and ran over to the regular grocery store to buy normal-people-sized-quantities of  vegetables (I mean, really, who has a crisper drawer that can hold a 25 lb. bag of carrots?) and the minute I walked in the store I realized that it was Tuesday which means it was Senior Citizen Day and there I was without my shin guards.

These people are feisty and will mow you down with their shopping carts to get the last of the fiber bars.

They do not mess around.

There are a couple of retirement villages in the area and they bring shoppers by the busload on Tuesdays for the 5% discount and they all stop their carts in the middle of the aisle to visit with each other and socialize and do all those things that the rest of us have forgotten how to do which is sweet and all but it does make for slow-going but while I was waiting to find a clear path out of produce, the store manager mentioned to me that sunflowers were on sale for a $1 a bunch and it was totally worth the delay for a vase full of sunshine on the kitchen counter.

photo (154)

The counter looks neat in this picture because all of a sudden the paper clutter got to me and I cleared off every scrap on both counters and stacked it on the couch and had every intention of dealing with it before dinner but I got distracted by rearranging the K-cups in a visually pleasing manner and didn’t get to it.

photo (152)

 

So this is what I’m doing today.

photo (153)

Unless I see something shiny in which case all bets are off.

Have a nice day.

4 responses to “Sus goes to the grocery store. Riveting.

  1. Glad to see you have piles of paper. I have piles that I seem to move from one place to another.

  2. Ahh, the couch with the pile. So me. I too make the mistake of showing up at the grocery store on senior day occasionally. Put those shin guards in your car! You crack me up, girl. Love you! Oh!!! By the way! I’m coming to Charlotte for the She Speaks Conference in July. Any chance we can meet up even for just a quick bite. I know you are not terribly close to Charlotte, but maybe you’ll need to escape the den of men that day? I’ll be there July 25-28. LMK!

  3. Since it was Tue., I assume you were at YOUR Kroger (I think they bring the buses to that one instead of mine where they used to come.) I took the girls w/me to HT last Thur., & guess what their senior day is…? Yep, it is Thur. I figured it out immediately because someone had mentioned it recently, but it was fun watching the girls wonder what was going on, especially the elder who is very aware of EVERYTHING going on around her at all times. Eventually I couldn’t hold it in & whispered to them that it was Senior day (& we were in the midst of the senior housing location.). Elder girl was actually relieved to know there was a reason for the “slow traffic” in the aisles. Guess I’m old enough now (yes, I DO take the senior discount!) that I rather enjoy watching them, especially when it’s 2 ladies together having a great time. Most of us will be in their stage eventually & I hope that some respect for elders has been restored by the time we get there…
    Now I have hijacked your blog…😟 Chalk it up to aging..😋

Leave a Reply

