Five on Friday on Monday

1.  The house was unusually clean Friday morning and I didn’t want to waste it so instead of blogging I issued an all-call on Facebook to local friends who didn’t have lunch plans to come eat with me and then spent the morning preparing a gourmet meal of chicken salad from the gas station served on croissants from my friendly neighborhood grocer.

I went all out, is what I’m saying.

(Okay, so it’s not from a gas station, just from the restaurant attached to the gas station which hopefully makes enough of a difference to keep you from declining any future lunch invitations from Sus.)

Three people accepted the offer, two didn’t know each other, and one even brought dessert and we had a great time visiting, eating cookies, and starting the weekend on a happy note.

2.  I’ve been reading a lot the last few weeks, mostly whatever Amy recommends.  I finished Sparkly Green Earrings (BigMama’s book, loved it), started and ditched a book on confidence after the first chapter (life’s too short to read something poorly written; of that, I’m confident), The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert (Rosaria Butterfield) and am still thinking about Love Does (Bob Goff), which is rattling around in my head three days after I closed the back cover and I might have to go back and read it again.

Next on the list is Why Priests?  A Failed Tradition by Garry Wills and What’s it like to be Married to Me? (Linda Dillow) which Craig said he’s not going to touch with a 10 foot pole because he’s smart enough to know that marriages last longer when you don’t go answering loaded questions like that.

3.  Breakfast is the most boring meal of the day so I’ve tried to jazz it up.  I found this recipe for swiss chard eggs and made it with spinach instead.  It was delicious even if only for Mom, party of one.

My people don’t do green for breakfast unless it’s a St. Patrick’s Day Krispy Kreme.

4.  It’s getting close to canning season.  We went to the Farmer’s Market this weekend to see what was available and came home with a flat of strawberries.  I spent most of Sunday afternoon slinging hot, red, sticky syrup all over the kitchen but it was worth it to have a year’s supply of jam in the pantry.

I see a lot of peanut butter sandwiches in my future.

5.  Craig started to fear for my mental health when he discovered I follow Emergency Kittens on Twitter.  I think that’s what it took to finally convince him  I really, really wanted another cat so this Wednesday  our house will be a little cheerier when we add the newest member of the family, a little orange kitty from this litter named Max.

Kitten

 

I can’t wait for him to get here.

Prepare yourself for an overload of pictures until the new wears off.

Have a nice day. 

 

2 responses to “Five on Friday on Monday

  1. I downloaded Linda Dillow’s book but haven’t read it yet. She was one of the first authors I read after becoming a Christian & I used her weekly planner long before everyone was doing those. It was so helpful to me. I’ve been reding a lot, too. With the weather we’ve had there have been way too many “good day to curl up w/a book” days!

  2. Dottie scates

    I think you should get the whole basket of kittens.

Leave a Reply

