Five on Friday

1.  I have no theme today.  Try to contain your disappointment.

2.  Did anyone watch Graceland last night?  It premiered on USA Network and I think I’m going to like it.  It has intrigue but not too much, action but not too much, and a mystery that isn’t too scary and, yes, I am the milquetoast of TV watchers because I don’t like shows that are too much edgy or dramatic because it stresses me out.  I need to laugh, not have to watch through my fingers, and be able to go to sleep afterwards without having to spend hours trying to figure out what happened.  

I’m looking at you, LOST.  

And Mentalist every time there’s a Red John themed episode.

3.  Dinner last night was an absolute bomb.  I mean, how bad can chicken farfalle with basil walnut pesto be?  Bad, people, BAD.  I found the recipe in a pressure cooker cookbook and I thought, “Pasta?  In a pressure cooker?” and the intrigue overrode the warning signals my brain was sending out and it was so foul that I didn’t finish it and the boys politely ate but I know they didn’t like it because this morning they said they’d rather buy industrial chili dogs  from the school cafeteria rather than take the leftovers.  

And I gladly forked over the lunch money and may or may not have added a little extra apology money to make up for the disappointment.    

4.   I’m looking for reading recommendations.  I will read most anything except for gory, scary, intensely action packed thrillers because see #2 above.  A friend recommended The Brothers Karamazov and I am struuuuugggling through it because a) I’m not as smart as he is, b) I don’t think like a Russian and c) supposedly there are underlying spiritual themes and I’m stressing that they aren’t readily apparent and d) it’s all just a lot of pressure for a summer read.

5.  I ordered the Silhouette machine last night.  Be prepared for craftiness galore in the weeks to come.

And to my sister-in-law, be prepared for texts asking how in the world to use it.

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. For a great book, I highly suggest The Shoemaker’s Wife. AT BOOK.

  2. OOPS…I meant great book, not at book. 🙂 so sorry

  3. boyswithgoats

    For light fun summer reading try the Tea house mystery series by Laura Childs, the first one is “Death by Darjeeling” another fun read is the Calamity Jane series by Kathleen Bacus. And of course the entire Joanne Fluke series

  4. There’s a great group on Facebook run by a friend of mine that can help you with Silhouette how-tos, patterns and much more!! Search for Cameo Friends if you’re on Facebook. You won’t be sorry – you will seriously love all the things you can do with this machine!

  5. You could combine the crafty and the reading by getting the Martha Stewart Encyclopedia of Crafts! And then it makes you feel like you’ve accomplished something when you turn the page 🙂 Last year I read “Scarlett” since I am obsessed with Gone with the Wind. And I was really surprised with how good it was. I reread the Harry Potter, Hunger Games and Twilight series while I was pregnant. Because apparently having a baby made me think like a teenage girl.

  6. Two enjoyable books I’ve read recently are “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” and “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.” They’re both about older British gentlemen who are stretched outside their comfort zones. Nice plots and twists plus a bit of romance and redemption. Good stuff.

  7. I read Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok a few years ago and it is still one of my favorite books. I also liked THe Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout although not as well as Olive Kitteridge. Looking forward to more book suggestions!

  8. I also enjoyed The Unlikely Pilgrammage of Harold Frye. A few not so new books I enjoyed-The 13th Tale by Diane Satterfield, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell, and The House at Riverton by Kate Morton. Did you read The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister? You like cooking so might enjoy that Also if you haven’t read Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay its really good.

  9. Some books that I love:
    The Language of Flowers
    The Secret Keeper
    Both were really good!

  10. Some of my favorite new reads this summer include Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series and Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. Perinneal fall-backs include anything by Dickens or Austen and Sue Grafton’s Alphabet series. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

