Monday musings

Hello from a hotel room in Little Rock. I’m on my way to Oklahoma to spend the 4th of July with family. The trip has been somewhat uneventful except for the part where I almost got run off the road this afternoon by someone who didn’t check their blind spot before veering into the left lane. Fortunately, the shoulder was wide and I had a little wiggle room but it was nerve wracking to say the least. On the bright side, after that happened I didn’t have to stop for coffee to keep me awake.

Girlfriend was ALERT for the rest of the afternoon.

We made it to Little Rock around 6:00 and ate dinner at a nearby Popeye’s (healthy, healthy) and after the requisite hour so the kids wouldn’t get stomach cramps and drown and really so Mom could stretch out on the bed after sitting for 11 hours we got in the hotel pool (hot tub for me) for a good bit of time. I find that splashing around helps them go right to sleep when we get back to the room for bedtime and it’s especially good for Travis because he sleeps with me when we’re traveling and anything that knocks him out cold and keeps him from tossing, turning, kicking me in the back, sticking me in the ribs, etc, is fantastic in my book.

Tomorrow morning I’m meeting my college roommate for breakfast before continuing on our way. We’ll stop for a little bit at my brother’s house and let the kids swim and play with their cousins for a couple of hours before the final leg home. I’ll be ready to get there.

I hope your day was equally delightful.

Have a nice day.

2 responses to “Monday musings

  1. Someone ran us off the road driving home from Georgia at Thanksgiving. It was so scary! It was a bus and the dumb old woman driving never even noticed while he was laying on the horn and driving literally in the grass. Luckily it wasn’t too uneven and in between bridges. That was not a good experience especially being 6 months pregnant! I swear i had ptsd the rest of the way back and held on tight!

  2. Enjoy your time with your family, and give them all big hugs from us! Yvonne and Joe

Leave a Reply

