Five on Friday on Monday

I had a Five on Friday post drafted with every intention of finishing and posting Friday morning but got sidetracked by reading.

It’s a constant life theme.  As a child? Wouldn’t go outside and play with my brother because, book.  At boarding school? In frequent trouble because I’d lie  about finishing my chores when, in fact, I’d completely abandoned them for the next chapter of The Strawberry Girl.  When the last installment of Harry Potter was released?  Craig surprised me by making an early morning trip to the bookstore for a copy, brought it back to me and took the kids out for the rest of the day so I could guiltlessly curl up on the couch and devour every word.

Yeah, he’s a keeper.

Since he was gone last week to California, I had full remote authority and took advantage of the situation by watching a few favorite movies on Netflix.  One of them was Emma (the Gwyneth Paltrow and Jeremy Northam version) and after it ended, I decided that I needed to reread the book to see where the movie had taken liberties and then I got a little obsessed about picking apart story elements and before you know it, the morning slipped away and the kids were back from school.  And then Amy said, “You need to read Gone Girl” and there went Sunday afternoon, evening and a good hour and half this morning and now I’m irritated about the last chapter and feel the need to read something happy THAT ENDS WELL.

So, without further ado, here’s what I would have told you last Friday if I could have dragged myself out of 19th century  England.

1.  JJ is officially taller than I am and he’s not looking back.

photo (250)

I have nothing else to say about that for it is tragic.

2.  So I drowned my sorrows with my friend Amy.  We were supposed to have lunch at her house on Wednesday but at the last minute switched plans because she had a horde of teenagers descend which wasn’t super conducive to girl chat so she brought the fixings and we spent the morning cooking together in my kitchen which was an absolute blast.  She brought the recipe for a chilled cucumber soup (interesting) with salmon-wrapped breadsticks and made a dilled yogurt sauce to dip them in.

photo (247)

photo (249)

Infinitely better than leftovers.

3.  In pop culture news, we introduced the boys to Monty Python and the Holy Grail and judging by the laughter before the opening credits had finished (“A moose once bit my sister”), they’re well on their way to loving British humor as much as their dad and I.

Say it with me....."It's just a flesh wound!"

Say it with me…..”It’s just a flesh wound!”

They were left puzzled by the ending (and after watching it dozens of times, so am I) but it didn’t stop them from declaring the movie hilarious and they now finally understand why I randomly stop them from passing in the hallway and asking what is their name and what is their quest and what is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow.

4.   On a personal note, thank you to those who suggested Frizz Ease as a solution to the particularly bad case of summer humidity hair.  It has worked well and I’ve been careful to use it sparingly thanks to Tina who sent a pointed warning email to USE IT SPARINGLY lest I wind up looking like Devo.

Devo

5.  And since we’re on the subject of sparing, (warning, really stretched for the segue here), Max needs to develop a strategy for hanging on to his rapidly approaching last life.

All. day. long.

I hope your weekend was delightful.

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Five on Friday on Monday

  1. African or European?

  2. We always noted that our bunny rabbit pets “got big teef”. If you don’t have it, you need this: http://www.amazon.com/Looney-Labs-Fluxx-Monty-Python/dp/1929780699/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376327590&sr=8-1&keywords=monty+python+fluxx

    You’re welcome.

  3. you are free to send the chandelier AND the cat to my house. no problem. i do pick up.

  4. When I finished Gone Girl I wanted to chuck it across the room too. Read Sister by Rosamund Lupton… Also about a girl gone missing, but the similarity ends there.

  5. The best book I’ve read so far this summer is “Tell the Wolves I’m Home.” – but now I’m reading “the Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making.” (I think that’s the title -it’s across the room….

Leave a Reply

