Hawaii Part III

My favorite part of vacation was getting to hang out with Amy.  We text daily but it had been a year and a half since we’d been in the same zip code so we had some catching up to do.

photo (335)

She played tour guide and met us at the Aloha Stadium Swap Meet and we had fun wandering the stalls, sampling food, and picking up souvenirs –  t-shirts and coconut peanut butter for the adults and shave ice and ukuleles for the kids.  One of my favorite stops was Lin’s Market where Amy introduced me to the joys of li hing (which I think is powdered plum but I’m too lazy to google) and we ate it sprinkled on pineapple and I think it’s my new favorite thing.

photo (331)

photo (332)

While at the swap meet we were also able to fulfill Travis’ one island vacation desire and that was to drink water from a coconut.

photo (333)

He enjoyed it for the ten minutes it stayed down but the heat of the morning finally got to him and he deposited the coconut and the rest of the contents of his stomach in a conveniently located grassy median and has forevermore declared that coconuts make him sick.

Amy also showed me the jewelry stall where she bought her toe ring.  Since I was looking at boot weather back on the mainland, I opted for a matching thumb ring instead.

photo (334)

After leaving the swap meet, lunch was in order.  Amy’s been raving for years about a Korean BBQ place she loves so we went to the Navy Exchange to grab a bite to eat at Yummy’s and I finally understood what all the fuss was about.

Kal bi, shoyu potatoes, and kimchi

Kal bi, shoyu potatoes, and kimchi

We liked it so much that we ended up tracking down another location before the trip was over to eat there again and I’ve been on Yelp since our return to find a local Korean place but, sadly, the reviews are telling me to enjoy my memories and wait for the next trip.

The afternoon was spent catering to the boys in the family.  My idea of fun doesn’t always include military history but Craig thinks Wings of War is the greatest show ever so I took one for the home team/paid for making them see educational sights we went to the Pacific Air Museum on Ford Island and saw planes, planes, planes and more planes.

And this is the part where WordPress stopped uploading pictures so you’ll have to imagine fuzzy, out of focus, iPhone pics of aircraft that I can’t remember the names of and aren’t you happy that I spared you the pain? 

I was fascinated by the bullet holes in the hangar where we viewed the WWII planes on display.  Hangar 79 took fire from the Japanese planes strafing Pearl Harbor and the airfield on that fateful December day and the broken window panes have not been replaced, bearing chilling witness to the horror. Seeing the jagged glass made history come alive for me in a way that countless movies and documentaries never have and I now more deeply appreciate what the servicemen lived through.

We initially had plans to visit the Missouri Battleship as well that afternoon but the kids were history-ed out so we went back to the hotel pool for down time and then met Amy and her family for a late dinner at Duke’s Waikiki where it was worth fighting the jet lag for fresh-from-the-sea fish and a piece of Hula Pie. We toured the Mighty Mo the following day and paid our respects to the fallen from the U.S.S. Arizona at a distance since the government shutdown prevented us from visiting the memorial.  We were able to get a good view from the end of the pier where the Missouri docked but left a teensy bit disappointed that we couldn’t get on it.

Maybe next time.

To be continued…….

Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

