New Beginnings

I don’t often wake up singing but this morning Come Thou Fount was swirling in my head along with the fog that often accompanies a hefty dose of NyQuil taken the evening before.

The flu is helping me ring in the new year.

Festive.

All morning long the insistent phrase “Bind my wandering heart to Thee” repeated over and over and as I mulled over the familiar words, I kept coming back to boundary. Not boundaries in the restrictive sense but more of a defined space that I want to be in as this new year starts. The last two months have been about wandering. It’s not that I’ve been lost, it’s just that I gave myself a lot of rope to cope with physical injury. While I needed it, it’s now time to tighten the reins just a little and bring some order and focus to life around me.

While I flesh out what that means, I’m forging ahead and being intentional about making some things happen. To wit, in January I’m going to:

1. Revive the blog.
2. Enroll in a pottery course. Try not to laugh.
3. Tackle the scary closets and the craft room.
4. Plan and invite girlfriends over for a fun night.

It’s a simple list but after a busy holiday, it’s just what I want to do.

Write.
Create.
Clean.
Reconnect.

Prone to wander? Yep, I feel it.

Here’s to a new year of finding home.

Have a nice day.

The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places. (Ps. 16:6)

3 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. Write, create, clean, connect- I’m in!

  2. Glad you are back! I had planned to text you today to check on you. Have a great 2014!

Leave a Reply

