Greetings from the Frozen Tundra

The thermometer greeted me with 8 degrees and a zero degree wind chill and I stepped out on the back porch just long enough to test Columbia’s claims that their jacket will keep me warm when it’s that cold. It did, and having checked that off, I’ve decided that copious amounts of hot tea, a fire, and NOT GOING OUTSIDE is a better plan for accomplishing the same goal and everyone’s a lot more comfortable.

Dear Yankees, hats off to you.

We’ve been busy beavers around the house. On the cleaning side, the craft room is finally put back in order and I can see the floor for the first time since November when I chucked all the fall decorations in the room and didn’t sort it or put it away and then piled the wreckage of Christmas on top of it. It took five trips to the attic, three garbage bags and one moment of despair that it would never come together but it did and I’m happy to have a clear space to sit and wonder why I even attempt to be crafty.
IMG_6135

IMG_6136IMG_6137

On the creative side, I took a deep breath and picked up a sewing project that’s languished for months and moved it forward to the next point I don’t know how to do so hooray for progress. Today I get to learn how to set snaps which I’m trying to view as a new opportunity to learn patience, perseverance and to not swear.

I’ve also spent a little time in the kitchen (mainly to keep the house toasty) and made a couple of soups (Ina Garten’s Winter Minestrone for the third time in two months and Julia Child’s French Onion) and tried my hand at my mom’s recipe for cinnamon rolls which didn’t turn out as tasty as hers but hope springs eternal that next time I’ll get it right.  (My unbaked rolls on top and Mom’s rolls from Christmas below.  I weep remembering them.)IMG_6144

IMG_6084

Now that the house is back in some semblance of order and the big projects are done you’d think I’d find time to get back into a good exercise groove but YOU WOULD THINK WRONG. The spirit is unwilling and the flesh is weak but I need to find something to do because I have to be in a swimsuit in late February and typing those words kinda’ terrifies me a little bit.

But then there’s that whole pan of cinnamon rolls on the counter thing to soothe my jangled nerves.

Maybe going outside and shivering will knock off a few of those calories.

Sounds like I might need to change my plan.

Have a nice day.

3 responses to “Greetings from the Frozen Tundra

  1. I’m so jealous of your craft room. I’m not crafty in the least, but I’d love to have a room that clean!

  2. Great job on the clean up…it looks fabulous.
    I’ve been doing a lot of baking to keep the house warm, too. Cinnamon rolls are on the list. They are always on the list. I haven’t made them in…uh..close to 10 years. But on the list they are.
    And I think you’re good with eating your cinnamon rolls because I heard on the radio today that we burn more calories when it’s cold. Those DJs on the Christian radio stations never lie.
    I’m here for ya. 🙂

  3. As of a couple of nights ago, I can also see my craft room floor, love seat, and desk…aahhhh…deep cleansing breath 🙂 Although it was pure torture throwing away all those little scraps of paper and yarn I was hoarding.
    It was great to have you here for Christmas, just wished i could have spent more time with ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

