Summer Catch-All/Catch-Up

Hello, my name is Susan and occasionally I write a blog post.

Since I’ve forgotten how to properly compose one, today I’m borrowing from Stephanie’s blog and using her prompts.

Outside my window….

I can hear the hammering of the work crew next door. They’ve been at it for a month, getting the house ready to sell. The previous owner recently passed away from cancer and the family is moving on. I will miss my neighbor. He was gruff, no-nonsense, plain-spoken and, interestingly, a former Israeli soldier who fought in the Six Day war. I would have loved to talk to him about the current situation in the Middle East and get his perspective.

Giving thanks….

Almost all of the leadership spots are filled on the planning committee for next year’s conference. Securing the volunteers for those roles has taken up much of my summer and available brain space. I’m looking forward to the kickoff next week and having a group of women help shoulder the load.

I am thinking about….

Seeing my family in a few hours! Craig forked over some of his frequent flyer miles and is sending me home SOLO this afternoon to soak up some time with the Oklahoma crew. It’s my dad’s 80th birthday and I’m happy that I’ll be able to celebrate with him.

I am also thinking about the chocolate pie I hope my mother is making.

Hint.

In the craft room…..

I finished a baby quilt from fabric a friend gave me.  It was fun finding a pattern that went with the vintage-y vibe. This was my first attempt at making half-square triangles and, for the most part, I was pretty happy with how it came out.

Like most things, though, don’t turn it over and look at the back.

photo (3)

From the kitchen….

The boys have been learning how to cook this summer.  It has been nice to sit at the bar watching them manhandle knives and simmer sauces while I supervise.  They’ve learned how to make a mean Alfredo and that the idea of Chinese food is better than the reality of spending the afternoon chopping.  Tommy has turned into a baker.  He made a beautiful batch of Snickerdoodles that had to be tossed because Mom didn’t know the Crisco in the pantry was from 2009 until she took the first bite.

photo (1)

photo (2)

So he learned to make them again.

I am creating….

Trying to do a little writing that isn’t blog-related but that furthers some personal goals.  I finished a short piece for inclusion in a friend’s book that took me longer than it should have for 500 words.  Creativity comes and goes but I’m trying to learn it’s useless to wait for the muse to wave her magic wand and that sometimes she comes while I’m going through the motions and just grinding it out.

I’m working on….

Trusting the Lord to provide.  We just finished an 8-week series in Sunday School that has smacked me in the face about how much I worry.  I don’t do a lot of it out loud but my brain is constantly churning over one thing or another.  It’s exhausting.  Last night we received word that Travis’ new one-on-one assistant had been hired for the school year and immediately I started thinking about all the things that could go wrong, wondering if he was going to be a good fit, worrying that he was so young, blah, blah, blah.  AND I’VE BEEN PRAYING FOR THIS PERSON FOR WEEKS.   I had to remind myself to turn it all into prayers of thanksgiving.

God has it all and holds it all.

I am reading…

Finished Crossing Oceans and cannot recommend it because SPOILER ALERT, the heroine dies at the end.  So annoyed and wishing I had those hours of my life back.  Happy endings, people, happy endings.

I am hearing….

Silence in the house.  The kids are soaking up the last two weeks of vacation.  Travis is making a movie, Tommy is on the couch with an ice pack on a tender shoulder (today was the first day of full pads and hitting in football practice), and JJ is looking at pictures of puppies on the Internet.  We are in full dog-search mode.  The kids want a Labrador Retriever, Great Dane, Dalmation (no), or  German Shepherd, I want a Giant Schnoodle, and Craig doesn’t want any of the above but is humoring us.

A few pictures from last month….

We knocked off six more states in our quest to visit all fifty.  This time we made the loop up through New England and visited Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut .  It’s a complete post in and of itself so for now, here’s a peek at what we did.

And I still haven’t figured out my camera, so hopefully these aren’t too blurry.

I have better ones on my iPhone.

Sigh.

DSC_0159 (2)DSC_0181 (2)DSC_0135 (2)DSC_0168DSC_0246DSC_0362 (2)DSC_0435 (2)

Forty down, 10 to go.

One of my favorite things…..

DSC_0186 (2)

Mushy, I know.

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Summer Catch-All/Catch-Up

  1. I love that you are writing, and otherwise creating, because I think that you have a lot of important words in you. And important quilts and beautiful meals. 🙂 I think it’s great that you’re teaching your young men to cook. And, I adore that picture of you and Craig. You need to frame that.

    PS, and by the way… A Golden Doodle or a Labradoodle would be lower on the shedding and allergies scale,and still a big dog for your guys to wrestle around with.

    Godspeed on your trip to see your daddy. Xxxooo

  2. Ditto the Labradoodle. Great dogs. So glad you are having an exciting end to the summer. Miss you!

  3. Enjoy your solo trip! And how I wish I knew you were in Massachusetts – I could have shown you around!

  4. Love everything about this post. Maybe especially the part about the Crisco because I don’t feel so alone anymore. But more probably the part about the trip. But then again, I liked all of it.

  5. Yay!! You’re back! I need to visit where ever the sugar, milk, cream and cream silos are.

Leave a Reply

