The Great Growth Project – Chapter 3

If you enjoy seeing your husband with a deer in the headlights look about him, ask him to describe you in one word.  We were sitting on the couch last night, he was watching a football game and I was reading Chapter 3 of the Maxwell book.  The author was talking about how self-esteem influences or retards growth and, as an exercise in developing positive self-esteem, had the reader list 100 good qualities about themselves.

After writing down three things (“Generally punctual”, “Knows all the words to every ABBA song ever written” and “makes a mean guacamole”), I asked Craig to say one word that summed up my personality.

He froze.

“This is like that ‘Am I fat?’ question, isn’t it?  Is there a right answer?”

After assuring him this wasn’t a quiz, he thought long and hard and said, “Steadfast.”  It wasn’t a completely surprising word – a variant of “loyal” which is what he used to describe me to his best friend when he first told him he was thinking of marrying me – but sweet to hear nonetheless.  (I may have gotten a little misty which made him VERY NERVOUS that he’d picked the wrong word until I clarified I was delighted.  Bless his heart, he married a teary woman – it’s a hot mess around here most days.)

So now I have four things on the list and 96 to go.  It’s a helpful exercise to combat negative self-talk and it’s also forcing me to really think about who I am.

And that is someone who can still scare her husband after 19 years.

How would you describe yourself in one word?

Have a nice day.

4 responses to “The Great Growth Project – Chapter 3

  1. offthebeatenpathministries

    Me? Confused. Emotional. Unsure. In her head too much. You? Delightful. Funny. Humble. Winsome. Definitely winsome. 🙂

  2. A friend texted her word to me – moxie. Isn’t that a great word? And it’s just like her – spunky.

  3. You Need to add welcoming… Our first Sunday in the life class and you were so welcoming of me, felt like we were already friends and I had only known you ten minutes. 🙂

    Welcoming
    Kind
    Hilarious
    Crafty
    Quilt-y
    BraveMotherofthreeteenageboys (it has to one word, right?)
    Hospitable

    Only 89 to go

  4. Dutiful – not very exciting, but there you have it. I’m a little law abiding fool – and that generally means following rules, but sometimes means following the heart instead of the law 🙂

Leave a Reply

