Five on Friday: Deep and Not So Deep Thoughts and Maybe A Rant

I heard that John Maxwell was participating in Michael Hyatt’s on-line Influence and Impact Summit, so I decided to virtually attend to see what he had to say.  Three days later, he still hasn’t shown up on the daily docket but I’ve had the chance to listen to a few of the other speakers and am a little unsettled about some of the things I’m hearing (or not hearing, as the case may be).

Some speakers have been talking about monetizing blogs, increasing the “size of your platform” (gag), how to build influence, and how to be as awesome and wonderful and successful as they are and it has me wrapped around the axle for various reasons.  First, from the lineup I’ve seen so far, it’s implicitly targeted towards Christians and I have yet to hear the name of Jesus and I’ve heard a lot about making it all about you and your goals. Second, from the fine print I read in the promo materials, it looks like it’s just a way for Michael Hyatt to get a lot of email addresses to target for subscription to his online program and for all of the speakers to plug their forthcoming book.  Third, it reeketh of exclusivity and the cool kids club.

And fourth, it clearly brings out my own insecurities.

I long for the days when Jesus was enough. When His call on your life didn’t get polluted with cries that there’s room at the table for you IF you put in hard work, IF you bring a network of people to your book deal, IF you have a new way to say things, IF you turn out consistent content that makes people care.

No, no, no, no.

Our lives are found at the foot of the cross and in Him all striving ceases.  Our eyes are fixed on Him, the Author and Perfecter of our faith, not the worldly authors who tell you if you could just be this way or do it that way or “know your why”, it would go well for you.

I know my why.

Jesus is my why.

Every day.

In however He chooses to direct my path.

And He says I’m enough and you’re enough because HE IS ENOUGH.

Thus endeth the rant.


Is anyone watching Blindspot?  I am OBSESSED with this show (Agent Kurt Weller would be my new imaginary boyfriend if I were imaginarily single) and if we are going to be friends, you have to watch it and talk about it with me.  I may or may not have spent hours a little time on the Internet reading about the show and cast and watched each episode a few times because not only is it a great procedural/mystery, but it has ALL THE FEELS as well.

Thus endeth the not-so-deep thought. 


I may have too much time on my hands.


Because I can’t write more than 200 words without talking about food, I must mention several dinners this week have been less than stellar except for the Chick-fil-A at the football game last night and more than once I’ve caught myself thinking, “As soon as these children move out, I am never cooking again.”  And then I find a new recipe on Pinterest and hope springs eternal.

After Wednesday’s garlic lime chicken fiasco  – how does one forget the garlic in a two-ingredient dish? – I’m pulling out the standby shepherd’s pie (minus the chocolate chips) for dinner tonight so we can go into the weekend happy.  If you’re looking for something homey, easy, and uses the leftover mashed potatoes stashed in the back of the fridge, give that a whirl.


And because it’s still bugging me paragraphs later, here’s another thought on the first thing.  I don’t want it to come across like I’m bashing other people’s life choices or begrudging their success, particularly since many of them profess the same faith I have and I know zero of them personally.  What I do want to caution is that we have a big responsibility, particularly in our Christian community, to not create false idols out of the dogged pursuit of success, significance, accomplishment, impact, and influence for any other purpose other than making Christ known. He told us to love the Lord God with all our hearts, mind, soul and strength and to love our neighbor as ourselves.  It just seems pretty simple to me and doesn’t require a platform to do it.

He must become greater; I must become less.

John 3:30 

3 responses to “Five on Friday: Deep and Not So Deep Thoughts and Maybe A Rant

  1. I love how you think, Sus. Because it’s right. Christians are perhaps even more at risk than non believers to fall into these traps because of the insideous nature of the prosperity gospel.

    And I’m with you. I’m done cooking when the kids leave. I may quit before then because sandwiches make them happy, and I don’t mind them (and popcorn) either. Plus, now that they’re old enough, we often sneak away for a happy hour meal on the cheap.

    Missing you especially right now. xo

  2. 1. I signed up for the Summit and have watched maybe three of all the videos so far. They all say the same thing. And you’re right – no mention of Jesus. And isn’t that the point?

    2. Blindspot – YES!! Thoroughly enjoying it and probably my favorite show right now. We’re watching Quantico, also, but it’s not doing it for me like Blindspot.

    3. I keep cooking. I can’t seem to stop myself.

  3. I’ve listened to quite of a few of the speakers as well. I like the interview format, but I also get the ‘cool kids’ vibe. I will say Glennon Melton talked quite a bit about how she has never done a sponsored post, and the freedom this allows her in saying whatever she wants to say. I think she has a point, when she says so many bloggers are not talking about current relevant ‘controversial’ subject matter because they ‘can’t make anyone mad’. I am finding a lot of repetition in the messages. I think I will just carry on and remember why I write and feel good about the process (most days anyway). One more thing…I’m not really a fan of the term ‘tribe’ to describe readers. More than one speaker used the term, and something about it rings funny in my head. Maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

