Two months later….

Where’d we leave off last? Oh, yes, beginning the recovery process of surgery.  I think I’m pretty much out the other side but had to head back to the OR a couple of weeks ago for the second planned surgery of the summer, this time to do a little interior remodeling and get rid of the baby room and assorted plumbing.

Don’t get HYSTERICAL if you can’t figure that out.

Ahem.

This recovery has been a little more involved than the first and I’m on strict orders to avoid housework and lifting anything heavier than 5 pounds for the next six weeks. Not going to lie, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed taking a break from the laundry and vacuum cleaner. Craig’s been a fabulous caretaker and the boys really stepped up to wash their own clothes and run to the grocery store for me.

They’ve thoroughly enjoyed shopping on their own as evidenced by the pantry full of chips, cookies, and cake and the empty vegetable drawer. It’s going to be a rude awakening when I’m back on game.

The first week I was in bed more than I was out of it but this past week I’ve been building stamina and strength and getting out of the house here and there. I’ve been reading, walking around the cul de sac, and, now that I can climb stairs, have been spending some time in the sewing room.  Hooray for fabric being under the weight limit! I cleared the backlog of unfinished projects and started a new quilt this morning. Guilty feelings keep trying to intrude because I feel pretty useless in terms of helping out around the house but we’ll get there soon enough. I’m committed to being a good patient.

Other highlights of the summer include a family vacation to Destin with my parents and brothers’ families.  There were 20 of us altogether and it was so special to spend an extended amount of time together. Usually when I’m home for a weekend, we’ll get together once or twice but it has been decades since we’ve spent that much concentrated time together and I loved every minute of it. Here’s one of my favorite pictures from the week.

 

destinsibs

I wish I had more news to share/to show for my summer other than one vacation and two operations but, sadly, that’s pretty much been it.  I hope your summer has been much more exciting than mine.

Have a nice day.

One response to “Two months later….

  1. I’m glad your recovery is going well. Take care.

Leave a Reply

