Rockin’, Rollin’, and Rulin’

001

Oh, I’m feeling so much better and I’m glad the seventy-six hours of sleep I’ve had in the last 24 have made me a new woman.  Wednesday’s usually my errand day, and since I was out of commission the better part of Monday and Tuesday, I had to cram a ton in.

I accomplished muchly.  Hence, today’s post title.

Want to ride along with me and see what happened?

002

This was carpool.

I am the Queen of it.

Did I ever tell you how I got my nickname?  I didn’t make it up just for this blog.  Four years ago we petitioned to enter the year-round magnet school we currently attend and the boys were accepted with one slight hitch.  There wasn’t enough space in the classroom to have them all attending on the same schedule and so for the first year, I’d have to have them on separate tracks.

Dear Reader, for 15 months I drove to school every blessed weekday because at least one of the boys had class.

No vacations.

No trips to the beach.

No trips home to see my folks.

No sleeping in.

For 15 months.

After month 14, one of the crossing guards who was sick of seeing me every.stinking.day bestowed me with the moniker that I now wear so proudly (she said with slightly rolled eyes).

And now you know the rest of the story.

While I was busy making sure I didn’t hit the car in front of me as I inched through the line, the boys were in the backseat oblivious to the mess playing with the toy of the day that gets dragged into the car.

004

After I dropped them off, I went to Blockbuster to return Bedtime Stories which I thought was cute, but had one too many “passing-gas” jokes for my taste.  Craig thought it was hilarious.

Who’s the adult in the family?  That would be me.

And what, Dear Reader, is conveniently  located three doors down from Blockbuster?

018

That would be a whole lotta’ love disguised as a Venti Extra-Hot Chai.  Did I mention I was so sick that I had gone TWO DAYS without caffeine?  I seriously needed to make up for lost time.

007

From there, on to the Post Office with the really bad pavement to mail Elizabeth’s washcloths I knitted for my give-away last month.  It took me a while to finish them what with the cat dying and the angst over the dentist and all, but I finally got them out of the front seat of my car.  From there, it was a left turn and two short miles down the road to the library to return Craig’s overdue book.

As an aside, should I be responsible for paying his overdue fines if HE’S the one who asked me to check it out and then didn’t return it on time?

Discuss.

008


Speaking of angst, while on my way to my friend Susan’s house, I was suddenly hit with the realization that I have a rather unpleasant date with the dentist on Friday morning.


012

Oh, great angstyness.  Perhaps even horror.

Let’s not discuss the dentist just yet because I need something to blog about on Friday.  Unlike the prepared ones of you who have plans and themes for every day of the blogging week, I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants kinda’ girl and I never know what’s going to come out of my mouth.  Oh man, and I just remembered that they told me I’ll probably have amnesia over the whole event, so I won’t even know what to tell you.  This is causing quite a conundrum, though not enough of one to forgo the use of powerful hallucinogenics.

After VBS planning at Susan’s house (where I forgot to take a picture, but trust me, it was loads of fun, and she and I look like sisters, so just imagine another picture of me like the one above except without the shocked look), I went to Kellie’s house for lunch.

I think this could become quite the little habit.

This is her beautiful corn and tomato tart that she made FROM SCRATCH (really, I watched her do it) and served with a salad and a delicious passion fruit and lemon tea.  I have it on good authority that sometime in the next day or so she’s going to post the recipe, so be sure and head over there to get it when she does.  It’s perfect for your next girly brunch – hello, men from Pakistan – or easy summer supper.

014

Another heartwarming touch was the use of her “I’m special” plate which made me happy because even though I, too, have an “I’m special” plate, I have always used it for the kids or Craig, never for myself.  And don’t we all like to feel special sometimes? As if all of this wasn’t enough, Martha Stewart Kellie made my absolute most favorite cookies in the world for dessert.  A while back she had read in my blog that I loved snickerdoodles, and she made them just because and I have to say it made me misty, misty, misty.

I heart you, Kel.  And your sweet kids who set a beautiful table and cracked me up with their very polite requests for “one OR TWO cookies, please”.

013

What I also loved is that it was a judgement-free zone when I may have had more cookies than is considered polite, and she even sent some home with me for the children.

015

Right.

Like they ever saw them.

Like they didn’t disappear in less than three minutes after I left her driveway.

After picking up my charges (I’d insert another picture but it would look exactly like the one on top except the children would be cranky from having to do homework/have outside recess/not having chicken nuggets on the lunch menu/bringing home a note from the teacher),  we went to Food Lion.  I am not a fan of the Lion, but it is conveniently located adjacent to the school, and since I only had to buy milk and eggs, we ducked in.  Of course, since the boys were with me, we slightly went over the grocery list.  This time, however, we managed to only buy two boxes of cereal, and they talked me into buying bread since I was  baking making  a frozen lasagna in celebration of Craig’s return from a business trip.  Did I tell you he was gone while  I was sick? I usually don’t serve bread with dinner, not because I’m stingy, but because it goes straight to my thighs.

Unlike dozens of snickerdoodles consumed in my car.

022

Apparently I’m not feeding Travis enough vegetables.

And then I went home, did laundry, cleaned bathrooms, straightened pictures, dusted my nightstand, tweeted with the real Martha Stewart and an astronaut orbiting in space fixing the Hubble telescope, and made dinner.

And I did all of this with a rather large hole in the back of my pants.

Which I did not discover until bedtime.

Have a nice day.

25 responses to “Rockin’, Rollin’, and Rulin’

  1. Holy Moses girl, you accomplished more yesterday than I have all year.

    I didn’t even notice your cookie consumption. And if I had, your shame would have been lost on me. Nothing makes me feel happier than feeding people…especially people who aren’t shy about eating.

    Let do it again soon….I am already planning my menu.

  2. I know better than to drink coffee while reading your blog…everything was going just fine, then the comment about the pants..now I need to clean coffee off my screen. 😀

    I may never meet the Triangle’s Martha Stewart (Kellie) in real life, but I sure like knowing her in blogland. The ‘special’ plate, your favorite cookies…tooooo sweet! Of course, I’m glad I know you in both worlds….speaking of which, I must get back to my reality…have a good one!

  3. How did you get so much done, especially coming off of being so sick? Wow!

    I love the special plate for a friend idea. I have one just like it that hasn’t been out of the box yet.

    • It’s called “panic”, Amy, and knowing your husband is coming back after having been gone two days and everything is still exactly.where.it.was when he left.

      That lights a fire under me every time.

  4. How fun! I made snickerdoodles last week in your honor. No, I didn’t send you any, but I sure ate a lot of them! And I thought about you every time! Your picture of yourself cracks me up! Did you take that with you iPhone? I’m totally gunning for one of those. I think I may need it if I should get a cool new job!

  5. I am cracking up right now . . . with the large hole in the back of your pants . . . all day long. . . totally sounds like something that’d happen to me. You are one busy CPQ. . . that’s for sure!! I love how Kellie pampered you with food. . . so sweet!

  6. Where’d you get that ring? Love it.

    • The ring is John Hardy. Craig gave it to me for Christmas four years ago and it is one of my favorites in the jewelry drawer.

      It’s also good in an alley fight.

  7. Wow! You really had the fire lit under you didn’t you! I need to have a day of getting that much knocked out! Yea for you!!! 🙂

    …sorry about the pant issue…

  8. yep, I’m a fly by the seat of hole-y pants blog poster too…

    sheesh..I’m gonna take a quick snooze after reading and then I’ll finish my comment. zzzzzz.

    Okay, much better. You really DID get mucho accomplished and I’m telling Adam that we need to start looking for a house in NC. I can’t take the the yummy lunches, cookies and CoffeeGal one more time if I’m not there! 😉

    I’m not going to mention the you know what on you know day coming up…just know I’ll be in the same place with both kiddos…so, it’ll be super easy to remember to pray!

  9. Wow, you accomplished so much….and looked great while doing it(minus the hole in pant). Love those glasses!

    The lunch looked amazing…I will keep an eye out for recipes. We do like our snickerdoodles around here. Glad you are feeling better.

  10. Wow. I might have no other words, because I’m almost certain that you took the rest of them…;)

    Hilarious. As usual. I think your name should be changed to “Bloggingqueen”.

    Really, though, I was mostly distratcted by your cute glasses, ring, and the snickerdoodles. Sorry, I can’t seem remember what else I’m supposed to comment about.

    Have a nice no-hole-in-the-back-of-your-pants kind of day!

  11. Whew! What a day! You totally crack me up, hole in your pants?! Oh my gosh I’m laughing all the way out the door to start my day and btw . ..checking my “landscape” as I do. Ha
    Have a good one!

  12. LOL I’m tired from just reading everything you did yesterday!
    Hope you were wearing a long top to keep that hole in your pants covered up!

  13. What a fun lunch with Kellie. All of it looks divine. Glad you accomplished much, for one of us had to.

    I know the fear and panic of: he’s in Vancouver and has a 30 minute flight, an hour in customs, luggage, and 45 minute drive home. What can I prioritize?

    Oh, I know…spray air freshener.

    Lurve the bling…er…ring. I’d love it in a size 8 or 9, actually. Lurve your glasses, too. Mine are only worn on high allergy days, or weekends, or after 8 p.m. at any time. But they are rectangular, too. Evidently, I wanted to be like you even a year before I met you.

  14. Who painted those amazing white cabinets in the Coffeegal’s house. They are amazing!

  15. You had a productive day…and you and Kellie are having way too much fun without me!

    Glad you’re feeling better. I think I’m catching whatever you had. Ick.

  16. I’m glad to see you up and about! My, my you were productive today! I was beginning to think you were, maybe by some chance, fakin’ it to get out of the “appointment” on Friday. (wink wink)

    We drink the same thing! I knew I liked you!!! BTW, If you like it extra flavorful, say: ‘Venti nonfat, no water, extra hot chai’.

  17. Oh, just so ya know, I’ve now got a hankerin for a giant snickerdoodle!

  18. What a day! And I love the glasses. I know it’s crazy, but I’ve always secretly resented my 20/20 vision. I know it’s wrong, but I just love the glasses look. Maybe one day my eyes will fail and I’ll secretly rejoice. In any case, you look fab! 🙂

  19. I’m thinking the fire that lit up under your britches is the source of your hole.

    And those glasses….veddy nice. You’re right…only cool people have them.

  20. “And then I went home, did laundry, cleaned bathrooms, straightened pictures, dusted my nightstand.”

    It’s like I dont even know who you are. . .
    🙂 and now my house is CLEARLY in need of a little work . . .

    glad you’re feeling better and that you were so productive today! happy friday girl!

  21. Glad you’re feeling better! And, may I just say…You make me laugh! (should that end in a question mark? or exclamation!) I so enjoy your writing style–it is an art. Thanks for sharing…and I hope the dental work goes okay. 🙂

    btw…thanks for sharing the origin of the “Carpool Queen”–I wanted to write it as a question for your next “Ask Sus'” post. Have a great weekend!

  22. OOH, I’m so excited about the dishcloths. I can’t wait to see what colors you used. Red and yellow like my kitchen?

    One of my favorite parts of reading your blog is reading the comments. So great! I feel like I have to be extra creative with my comments b/c the others are so great.

  23. Okay, this was HI- Larious! the pants, the cookies, the whole thing! How many times have I mentioned how thankful I am that I found your blog? More than twenty? One more won’t hurt then… I am so glad I followed links over here! Great great storyteller, you are. (apparently I am Yoda)

Leave a comment